CrackitToday App

ASEAN-India Trade In Goods Agreement

ASEAN-India Trade In Goods Agreement:

The 3rd meeting of AITIGA Joint Committee for undertaking the review of ASEAN-India Trade in Goods Agreement (AITIGA) was hosted by India in Vanijya Bhawan, New Delhi from 16-19 February 2024.

  • ASEAN-India Trade in Goods Agreement is a trade deal between the ten member states of ASEAN and India.
  • This agreement was signed at the 7th ASEAN Economic Ministers-India Consultations in Bangkok, Thailand in 2009.
  • The agreement, which came into effect in 2010, is sometimes referred to as the ASEAN-India Free Trade Agreement.
  • The Agreement covers trade in physical goods and products; it does not apply to trade in services.
  • ASEAN and India signed a separate ASEAN-India Trade in Services Agreement in 2014.


  • It is a group of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, which was established in 1967 with the signing of the Bangkok declaration.
  • Founding members: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
  • Presently ASEAN comprises 10 member states namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Laos, Myanmar, Cambodia and Vietnam.