CrackitToday App

Gandhi Peace Prize For The Year 2019 | 2020

Gandhi Peace Prize For The Year 2019 And 2020:

Gandhi Peace Prize for the Year 2019 and 2020 was announced.

  • The Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2019 is being conferred on (Late) His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said Al Said of Oman.
  • The Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2020 is being conferred on Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.
  • Gandhi Peace Prize is an annual award instituted by the Government of India since 1995, the 125th Birth Anniversary commemoration year of Mahatma Gandhi.
  • The award is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed, or sex.
  • The Jury for Gandhi Peace Prize is chaired by Hon’ble Prime Minister, Sh Narendra Modi, and comprises of two ex-officio members, namely the Chief Justice of India and Leader of the single largest Opposition Party in Lok Sabha.
  • Two eminent members are also part of the Jury, namely Shri Om Birla, Speaker of the Lok Sabha, and Shri Bindeshwar Pathak, Founder of Sulabh International Social Service Organisation.
  • The award carries an amount of Rs. 1 crore, a citation, a plaque, and an exquisite traditional handicraft/ handloom item.