CrackitToday App

Zonal Cultural Centres

Zonal Cultural Centres:

The Union Culture Ministry has set up seven Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs) across the country for conservation and development of art, culture and crafts across the country.

  • Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs) have been set up at Patiala, Nagpur, Udaipur, Prayagraj, Kolkata, Dimapur, and Thanjavur.
  • Government of India has provided annual grant-in-aid to conduct art programmes at these centres.
  • The ministry also organises Rashtriya Sanskriti Mahotsavs (RSMs) through these ZCCs where a large number of artistes from all over India are engaged to showcase their talents.
  • These ZCCs also organise a minimum 42 Regional Festivals for promotion of art and culture every year as per their programme calendar.
  • For proper storage of the treasure of knowledge for posterity, several art forms including the vanishing ones are being documented by these ZCCs.
  • Number of arts forms have been documented in digital format (both audio and video formats).
  • Further, for preservation and promotion of various folk arts & culture of the country, these ZCCs also implement a number of schemes viz. Award to Young Talented Artists, Guru Shishya Parampara, Theatre Rejuvenation, Research and Documentation, Shilpgram, OCTAVE and National Cultural Exchange Programme.