CrackitToday App

International Telecommunication Union (ITU)

International Telecommunication Union (ITU):

Ashwini Vaishnaw, Union Minister of Communications and Houlin Zhao, Secretary General of International Telecommunication Union (ITU) signed the Host Country Agreement (HCA) for the establishment of an Area Office & Innovation Centre of ITU in New Delhi on 3rd March 2022.

  • International Telecommunication Union is the United Nations specialised agency for information and communication technologies – ICTs.
  • ITU currently has a membership of 193 countries and over 900 private-sector entities and academic institutions.
  • The Area Office and Innovation Centre of ITU at New Delhi is expected to serve South Asian countries namely Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Iran, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka and India.
  • The Host Country Agreement provides the legal and financial framework for establishment and operations of the Area Office.
  • The Area Office and the Innovation Centre is expected to be operational by mid 2022.
  • World Telecommunications Standardisation Assembly-20 (WTSA-20)
    • The agreement was signed in a virtual ceremony during the World Telecommunications Standardisation Assembly-20 (WTSA-20) being held in Geneva, Switzerland.
    • WTSA is a four-yearly global conference of ITU dedicated to standardisation of the Information and Communications Technologies (ICTs).
    • India has proposed to host the next WTSA to be held in 2024.