CrackitToday App

Kirti Chakras And Shaurya Chakras

Kirti Chakras And Shaurya Chakras:

President Droupadi Murmu has sanctioned 76 gallantry awards for armed forces and Central Armed Police Forces personnel on the eve of India’s 77th Independence Day.

  • Among these, the Kirti Chakra, the second-highest peacetime gallantry award, will be presented to four Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) members who lost their lives during an anti-Naxal operation in Chhattisgarh in April 2021.
  • Additionally, eleven individuals will receive the Shaurya Chakra, the third-highest peacetime gallantry award, including personnel from the Army, Jammu and Kashmir Police, and CRPF.
  • Five of these awardees will be posthumously honoured.
  • The approved awards consist of 54 Sena Medals (Gallantry), three Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry), and four Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry).
  • The President has also granted 30 Mention-in-Despatches to the Army and one to an Air Force personnel, acknowledging their significant contributions in various military operations.