CrackitToday App

Ordnance Factory Board

Ordnance Factory Board:


Seven new defence companies, carved out of Ordnance Factory Board (OFB), were dedicated to the Nation at a function organised by Ministry of Defence on the occasion of ‘Vijayadashami’ in New Delhi on October 15, 2021.

  • To enhance functional autonomy, efficiency and unleash new growth potential & innovation, Government had decided to convert OFB from a Government Department into seven 100 per cent Government-owned corporate entities as a measure to improve self-reliance in the defence preparedness of the country.
  • These companies have commenced business from October 01, 2021.

The seven new Defence companies are:

  • Munitions India Limited (MIL);
  • Armoured Vehicles Nigam Limited (AVANI);
  • Advanced Weapons and Equipment India Limited (AWE India);
  • Troop Comforts Limited (TCL) (Troop Comfort Items);
  • Yantra India Limited (YIL);
  • India Optel Limited (IOL) and
  • Gliders India Limited (GIL).