CrackitToday App

Sahitya Akademi Awards For The Year 2023

Sahitya Akademi Awards For The Year 2023:

Tamil author Rajasekaran (Devibharathi), Telugu writer T. Patanjali Sastry and Malayalam litterateur E.V. Ramakrishnan were among those named for the Sahitya Akademi Awards for the year 2023.

  • Sahitya Akademi Award is awarded for the most outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the major Indian languages recognised by the Akademi.
  • Akademi gives 24 awards annually to literary works in the languages it has recognized and an equal number of awards to literary translations from and into the languages of India.
  • Besides the 22 languages enumerated in the Constitution of India, the Sahitya Akademi has recognised English and Rajasthani as languages in which its programme may be implemented.
  • The award, in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and 1,00,000 rupees will be presented.