CrackitToday App

Fraud Day: February 5 (PoK)

Pakistan Occupied Kashmir (PoK):


The people of Pakistan occupied Kashmir (PoK) have condemned Pakistan for observing February 5 as Kashmir Solidarity Day and on the contrary marked it as “Fraud Day”.

  • Several protest rallies are held across PoK in areas like Bagh, Mong and Hajira where the people lambasted Islamabad for its double standards on Kashmir (The region does not have proper healthcare and educational facilities compared to Islamabad).
  • PoK is called “Azad Jammu & Kashmir” (“AJK” in short).
  • It came into being after the 1949 ceasefire between India and Pakistan.
  • It comprises the parts of the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir that were occupied by the Pakistani forces.
  • Pakistan’s constitutional position on PoK is that it is not a part of the country, but the “liberated” part of Kashmir.
  • However, Article 257 of Pakistan’s Constitution says: “When the people of the State of Jammu and Kashmir decide to accede to Pakistan, the relationship between Pakistan and the State shall be determined in accordance with the wishes of the people of that State.”
  • The constitution of Pakistan lists the country’s four provinces — Punjab, Sind, Balochistan, and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.
  • For all practical purposes, PoK is run by the Pakistan government through the all-powerful Kashmir Council, a nominated 14-member body headed by the Prime Minister of Pakistan.
  • The Assembly has a five-year term. The legislators elect a “prime minister” and a “president” for the territory.
  • While PoK is ostensibly an autonomous, self-governing territory, the Pakistan Army is the final arbiter on all matters Kashmir.
  • The fact that PoK is an integral part of India has been our consistent policy ever since 1947.
  • India has also made clear to the world that any issue related to PoK is the internal matter of India.
  • Please note that Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) is part of the newly created Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir, while Gilgit-Baltistan is in the UT of Ladakh in the fresh maps released by the government.