CrackitToday App

African Union a Permanent Member Of The G-20

African Union a Permanent Member Of The G-20:

India’s G-20 Sherpa recently said that the Indian Prime Minister’s proposal to make the African Union a permanent member of the G-20 has received an overwhelming response from the grouping.

  • The African Union (AU) is a continental body consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries of the African Continent.
  • It was officially launched in 2002 and replaced its predecessor, the Organization of African Unity (OAU), which was founded in 1963.
  • Primary Objective is to promote unity, cooperation, and development among African nations while advancing the continent’s interests on the global stage.
  • It aims to strengthen political, economic, and social integration among African countries, with a vision of achieving an integrated, prosperous, and peaceful Africa.
  • Headquarters: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • It is the highest decision-making body, consisting of the heads of state and government of member countries.
  • Made up of foreign affairs ministers, handles policy matters and makes recommendations to the Assembly.
  • AU Commission: Headquartered in Addis Ababa, is the administrative arm responsible for implementing the decisions of the Assembly and the Executive Council.
  • The Peace and Security Council: Responsible for maintaining peace and security on the continent.
  • The AU structure promotes the participation of African citizens and civil society through the Pan-African Parliament and the Economic, Social & Cultural Council (ECOSOCC).