CrackitToday App

Cabinet Committee On Security

Cabinet Committee On Security:

The Cabinet Committee on Security recently cleared the acquisition of over 200 BrahMos extended-range supersonic cruise missiles for deployment on its warships.

  • Cabinet Committees are extra-constitutional, meaning, they are not mentioned in the Indian Constitution.
  • They are partly designed to reduce the burden on the Union Cabinet by allowing smaller groups of ministers to make decisions on specific policy areas.
  • They are constituted or reconstituted when a new government takes over or the Cabinet undergoes a reshuffle.
  • The Prime Minister constitutes the Standing Committees of the Cabinet and sets out the specific functions assigned to them.
  • The composition of cabinet committees in India can range from three to eight members, which typically consist of only Cabinet Ministers.
  • However, non-cabinet ministers may also be appointed as members.
  • All cabinet committees are chaired by the prime minister or a senior cabinet minister and will have a number of cabinet ministers as members.
  • However, if the Prime Minister is a committee member, he will be the head of the committee.
  • The CCS deals with all the issues related to the defence and security of India.
  • The CCS deals with all issues related to the law and order of our country and national security.
  • It discusses different initiatives to take to enhance the national security of India.
  • It also deals with policy matters of foreign affairs which may have a bearing on internal or external security implications, including cases relating to agreements with other countries on security-related issues.
  • The Committee discusses the political issues which can impact the security of our nation.
  • It reviews the conditions and the manpower of the national security bodies and makes the required changes to increase national security.
  • The CCS considers each case that involves a capital expenditure of more than Rs 1,000 crore in respect of the Department of Defence Production and Department of Defence Research and Development.