CrackitToday App

National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA)

National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA):

The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) celebrated its 18th Formation Day on 28th September, 2022.

  • Theme 2022: Volunteerism in Disaster Management.
  • The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) is India’s apex statutory body for disaster management.
  • The NDMA was formally constituted on 27th September 2006, by the Disaster Management Act, 2005.
  • The Prime Minister is its chairperson and it has nine other members. One of the nine members is designated as Vice-Chairperson.
  • The primary responsibility for the management of disaster rests with the State Government concerned.
  • However, the National Policy on Disaster Management puts in place an enabling environment for all i.e., the Centre, state and district.
  • The government is working on a programme to set up disaster management volunteers (Aapada Mitra) in 350 districts of the country.

Aapada Mitra:

  • It is a Central Sector Scheme that was launched in May 2016.
  • NDMA is the implementing agency.
  • It is a programme to identify suitable individuals in disaster-prone regions who can be trained to be first responders in times of disasters.
  • To provide the community volunteers with the skills that they would need to respond to their community’s immediate needs in the aftermath of a disaster thereby enabling them to undertake basic relief and rescue tasks during emergency situations such as floods, flash-floods and urban flooding.