CrackitToday App

Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT)

Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT):

The Tenth Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) concluded last week in New York.

  • The NPT is a multilateral treaty aimed at limiting the spread of nuclear weapons including three elements:
    • Non-proliferation
    • Disarmament
    • Peaceful use of nuclear energy.
  • The treaty was signed in 1968 and entered into force in 1970.
  • The Treaty does not affect the right of state parties to develop, produce, and use nuclear energy for peaceful purposes.
  • India is one of the only five countries that did not sign the NPT.