CrackitToday App

Rajaji Tiger Reserve

Rajaji Tiger Reserve:

The Uttarakhand government recently decided to establish Rajaji Tiger Reserve Conservation Foundation to accelerate the ecological, economic, social, and cultural development of the landscapes in and around the reserve.

  • Rajaji Tiger Reserve (earlier Rajaji National Park) is located in the Shivalik range of the Himalayas and spread over 820 kms.
  • It covers a part of over three districts of Uttarakhand: Haridwar, Dehradun, and Pauri Garhwal.
  • It was named after the famous freedom fighter Rajgopalachari, popularly known as “Rajaji”.
  • The park was created in 1983 by the amalgamation of three sanctuaries:
    • Rajaji Sanctuary and National park (estd. 1948),
    • Motichur Sanctuary (estd. 1964), and
    • Chilla sanctuary (estd. 1977).
  • On 20 April 2015, its name was changed to Rajaji Tiger Reserve.
  • It is famous as an elephant habitat, as there are around 600 elephants in Rajaji.
  • It’s location in a transition zone between temperate western Himalaya and central Himalaya enhances the species diversity
  • The area is covered with diverse forest types ranging from semi-evergreen to deciduous and from mixed broad-leaved to Terai grassland and has been classified as Indus-Ganges Monsoon Forest type.