CrackitToday App

Free Foodgrains Scheme

Free Foodgrains Scheme:


The Union Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution issued a notification to provide free foodgrains (rice, wheat and coarse grains) to all eligible households under the National Food Security Act, 2013, for one year from January 1, 2023.

  • The government, however, discontinued the Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana.
  • Coarse cereals are traditionally grown in resource-poor agro-climatic regions of the country.
  • Agro-climatic zone is a land unit in terms of major climates suitable for a certain range of crops and cultivars.
  • Sorghum, pearl millet, maize, barley, finger millet and several small millets such as kodo millet, little millet, foxtail millet, proso millet and barnyard millet together called coarse cereals.
  • Sorghum, pearl millet, finger millet, maize and small millet (barnyard millet, proso millet, kodo millet and foxtail millet) are also called nutri-cereals.
  • Coarse cereals are known for their nutri-rich content and having characteristics like drought tolerance, photo-insensitivity and resilient to climate change etc.


  • Notified On 10th September, 2013.
  • Objective:
    • To provide for food and nutritional security in the human life cycle approach, by ensuring access to adequate quantities of quality food at affordable prices to people to live a life with dignity.
    • 75% of the rural population and upto 50% of the urban population for receiving subsidised foodgrains under the Targeted Public Distribution System (TPDS).
  • Eligibility: Priority Households are to be covered under TPDS, according to guidelines by the State government.
  • Households are covered under the Antyodaya Anna Yojana.