CrackitToday App

Indus Waters Treaty

Indus Waters Treaty:

India recently issued a notice to Pakistan for modification of the Indus Waters Treaty (IWT).

  • Indus Water Treaty was signed in September 1960 between India and Pakistan.
  • The treaty was brokered by the World Bank, which too is a signatory to the treaty.
  • The treaty fixed and delimited the rights and obligations of both countries concerning the use of the waters of the Indus River system.
  • It gives control over the waters of the three “eastern rivers’ the Beas, Ravi, and Sutlej to India, while control over the waters of the three “western rivers’ ‘ the Indus, Chenab, and Jhelum to Pakistan.
  • The treaty allows India to use the western river waters for limited irrigation use and unlimited non-consumptive use for such applications as power generation, navigation, floating of property, fish culture, etc.
  • It lays down detailed regulations for India in building projects over the western rivers.