CrackitToday App

Pro-tem Speaker

Pro-tem Speaker:

The President has appointed Bhartruhari Mahtab, a seven-term MP from Cuttack, as the pro tem Speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha.

  • Pro-tem Speaker is a Latin phrase which translates to ‘for the time being’ in English, and so the pro-tem speaker is a temporary speaker appointed for a limited period of time to conduct the work in Lok Sabha or in state legislatures.
  • A Pro-tem speaker is chosen for the conduct of the house when the Lok Sabha and legislative assemblies have been elected and the vote for the speaker and deputy speaker has not taken place.
  • The Constitution does not expressly use the term ‘Pro-tem Speaker’.
  • The office of the pro tem speaker ceases to exist after the new Speaker of the House is chosen.
  • The Speaker Pro-tem is appointed by the President of India/Governor.
  • The President/Governor administers the oath of office to the pro-tem Speaker.
  • As per convention, a senior most member will be appointed as the pro tem speaker with the agreement of assembly members, who then carry on the activities until the permanent speaker is chosen.