CrackitToday App

What is the National Trust?

National Trust:

The Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment had recently organised meetings with officials and other stakeholders of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh for implementation of National Trust Act, 1999.

  • This act looks into the welfare of people with autism, cerebral palsy, mental retardation and multiple disabilities.
  • The Act also provides for the setting up of the National Trust.

About the National Trust:

  • The National Trust is a statutory body of the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India.
  • It was set up under the “National Trust for the Welfare of Persons with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities” Act.
  • Its mandate is to discharge two basic duties – legal and welfare.
  • The objectives of the National Trust in particular are:
    • To enable and empower persons with disability to live as independently and as fully as possible within and as close to their community as possible;
    • To facilitate the realisation of equal opportunities, protection of rights and full participation of persons with disability;
    • To extend support to its registered organisations to provide need-based services; and
    • To evolve procedures for appointments of guardians and trustees for persons with disabilities.