CrackitToday App

2023 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize

2023 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize:

Ruixiang Zhang, Assistant Professor, University of California, Berkeley, USA will be awarded with the 2023 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize for his outstanding contributions in mathematics.

  • Ruixiang Zhang is a young mathematician whose fundamental work spans from analytic number theory, combinatorics, and Euclidean Harmonic Analysis to geometry.
  • Building on his Princeton PhD thesis, Zhang in collaboration with Shaoming Guo proved a multivariable generalisation of the main conjecture in Vinogradov’s Mean Value Theorem.

Sastra Ramanujan Prize :

  • It was instituted in the year 2005.
  • It is awarded every year by the SASTRA University on its campus near Kumbakonam in Tamil Nadu, on Ramanujan’s birth anniversary, December 22.
  • The prize is conferred annually to mathematicians from across the world who is less than 32 years of age, working in an area influenced by the Srinivasa Ramanujan.
  • The age limit is 32 years to commemorate the fact that Ramanujan accomplished a phenomenal body of work in this short span.
  • It carries a citation and an award of $10,000.