CrackitToday App

24th ASEAN-India Meeting

24th ASEAN-India Meeting:

The 24th ASEAN-India Senior Official’s Meeting (SOM) was hosted in Delhi.

  • India and ASEAN celebrated the 30th anniversary of their Dialogue Relations.
  • Earlier, the 2nd ASEAN Digital Ministers’ (ADGMIN) Meeting with India held, where two sides finalized India-ASEAN Digital work plan 2022 for future collaboration in the field.

Key Highlights:

  • The SOM reviewed the ASEAN-India strategic partnership and its future direction.
  • The leaders made their assessment on the progress of cooperation under three pillars of Partnership – Political-Security, Economic and Socio-Cultural.
  • The meeting deliberated on the steps for further implementation of the ASEAN-India Plan of Action (2021-2025).
  • The two sides exchanged views on regional and international issues of mutual interest including the Covid-19 pandemic and post-pandemic recovery.
  • Underlining the India’s vision of the Indo-Pacific, emphasized the implementation of the ASEAN-India Joint Statement on Cooperation on ASEAN Outlook on Indo-Pacific (AOIP) to strengthen the ASEAN-India Strategic Partnership.
  • The ASEAN side appreciated India’s support to ASEAN and ASEAN-led architecture in the region.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations:

  • It is a regional grouping that promotes economic, political, and security cooperation.
  • It was established in August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the founding fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
  • Its chairmanship rotates annually, based on the alphabetical order of the English names of Member States.
    ASEAN countries have a total population of 650 million people and a combined Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of USD 2.8 trillion.
  • It is India’s 4th largest trading partner with about USD 86.9 billion in trade.
  • ASEAN brings together ten Southeast Asian states – Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam – into one organisation.