CrackitToday App

Group Of Seven

Group Of Seven:


Energy ministers from the Group of Seven (G7) reached a deal to shut down their coal-fired power plants by 2035.

  • The agreement on coal marks a significant step in the direction indicated last year by the COP28 United Nations climate summit to phase out fossil fuels, of which coal is the most polluting.
  • The Group of Seven (G7) is an intergovernmental political and economic forum that brings together seven of the world’s advanced economies.
  • These countries include Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States.
  • Additionally, the European Union (EU) is considered a “non-enumerated member” of the G7.
  • The forum is organized around shared values of pluralism, liberal democracy, and representative government.
  • The G7 originated from an ad hoc gathering of finance ministers in 1973.
  • Over time, it has evolved into a formal and high-profile venue for discussing and coordinating solutions to major global issues.
  • These issues span areas such as trade, security, economics, and climate change.