CrackitToday App

Hindi Compulsory In The Eight Northeastern States

Hindi Compulsory In The Eight Northeastern States:

The Government of India provided that Hindi would be made compulsory up to Class 10 in the eight northeastern states.

  • Hindi is described as “the language of India”.
  • However, the move has been met with protests from various organisations in the Northeast.
  • Also, several south Indian states have criticised the central government decision.
  • Instead, these groups are supportive of three-language policy – English, Hindi and the local language.
  • The state is protected by the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution and the Centre would not be able to impose Hindi on the students.
  • Centre’s move will provide Hindi-speakers the economic, academic and administrative edge and let them control non-Hindi speaking regions of the country in the long run.
  • In India most of the states have been formed on linguistic basis.
  • Conflicts over identity, especially over languages tend to be escalated due to limited resources in India.
  • The status of language has been a critical issue that has caused division of states in the past.
  • Such states as Andhra Pradesh (1st state formed on linguistic basis), Punjab and Gujarat were created due to statehood demand on linguistic basis.

Three-Language Formula:

  • Three-Language Formula was first proposed by Kothari Commision 1968. Under this scheme:
    • First language: It will be the mother tongue or regional language.
    • Second language: In Hindi speaking states, it will be other modern Indian languages or English. In non-Hindi speaking states, it will be Hindi or English.
    • Third Language: In Hindi speaking states, it will be English or a modern Indian language. In the non-Hindi speaking state, it will be English or a modern Indian language.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CrackitToday App