CrackitToday App

Suresh N Patel : New Chief Of The Central Vigilance Commission

Suresh N Patel : New Chief Of The Central Vigilance Commission

The Government appointed Suresh N Patel as the new chief of the Central Vigilance Commission.

  • The Central Vigilance Commission was set up by the Government in 1964 on the recommendations of the Committee on Prevention of Corruption, headed by Shri K. Santhanam, to advise and guide Central Government agencies in the field of vigilance.
  • CVC are conceived to be the apex vigilance institution, free of control from any executive authority, monitoring all vigilance activity under the Central Government and advising various authorities in Central Government organizations in planning, executing, reviewing and reforming their vigilant work.
  • The Parliament enacted Central Vigilance Commission Act, 2003 (CVC Act) conferring statutory status on the CVC.
  • It is an independent body which is only responsible to Parliament.
  • It submits its report to the President of India.


  • Central Vigilance Commissioner – Chairperson.
  • Not more than two Vigilance Commissioners – Members.
  • Functions: The CVC receives complaints on corruption or misuse of office and recommends appropriate action.
  • Following institutions, bodies, or a person can approach CVC: Central government, Lokpal, Whistle blowers
  • It is not an investigating agency.
  • The CVC either gets the investigation done through the Central Bureau of Investigation(CBI) or through chief vigilance officers (CVO) in government offices.
  • It is empowered to inquire into offences alleged to have been committed under the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 by certain categories of public servants.