CrackitToday App

Codex Alimentarius Commission

Codex Alimentarius Commission:

India has been unanimously elected as a member representing the Asian region in the Executive Committee of Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) during its 46th meeting at Food and Agriculture organization (FAO) headquarters at Rome.

  • India proposed the establishment of global standards for millets like Finger millet, Barnyard millet, Kodo millet, Proso millet, and Little millet, similar to group standards set for pulses. This proposal gained unanimous endorsement during the session.
  • Codex currently has standards for Sorghum and Pearl Millet.

Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC):

  • CAC is an international food standards body established jointly by the FAO and the World Health Organization (WHO) in May 1963 with the objective of protecting consumer’s health and ensuring fair practices in food trade.
  • The Agreement on Application of Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures (SPS) of the World Trade Organization (WTO) recognizes Codex standards, guidelines and recommendations as reference standards for international trade and trade dispute settlement.
  • Currently the Codex Alimentarius Commission has 189 Codex Members made up of 188 Member Countries and 1 Member Organization (The European Union).
  • India became the member of Codex Alimentarius in 1964.