CrackitToday App

3rd South Summit

3rd South Summit:

The 3rd South Summit was held in Kampala, Uganda, bringing together the members of the Group of 77 (G77) and China.

  • The Third South Summit brought together the 134 members of the Group of 77 and China to boost South-South cooperation on trade, investment, sustainable development, climate change, poverty eradication, and digital economy, among other areas.
  • The theme of the summit was “Leaving No One Behind.”
  • The Group of 77 (G-77) was established on 15th June 1964 by signatories of the “Joint Declaration of the Seventy-Seven Developing Countries” issued at the end of the first session of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) in Geneva.
  • The G77 group has 134 members excluding China because the Chinese government does not consider itself a member, but rather a partner that provides political and financial support to the group. Although the group (G 77) mentiones China as its member.
  • The Group of 77 is the largest intergovernmental organization of developing countries in the United Nations.
  • It provides the means for the countries of the South to articulate and promote their collective economic interests and enhance their joint negotiating capacity on all major international economic issues within the United Nations system.