CrackitToday App

Community Of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP)

The Community Of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP):

Minister for External Affairs said that India has joined the Community of Portuguese Language Countries, CPLP as Associate Observer in July this year. this sets a new platform for strengthening India’s historic bonds of friendship with Lusophone countries.

  • The Community of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP) is also known as the Lusophone Commonwealth.
  • It is an international organization and political association of Lusophone nations across four continents, where Portuguese is an official language.
  • The CPLP consists of 9 member states and 32 associate observers, located in Europe, South America, Asia, Africa and Oceania, totaling 37 countries and 4 organizations.
  • Member states: There are nine full member states of the CPLP. Seven were founding members of the CPLP: Angola, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Guinea Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, and São Tomé and Príncipe; Timor-Leste joined in 2002 and Equatorial Guinea joined in 2014.
  • It was founded in 1996, in Lisbon.
  • Headquarters: Lisbon, Portugal.
  • Lusophones are peoples and nations that comprise an estimated 270 million people spread across 10 sovereign states and territories that recognize Portuguese as an official language.
  • This area is known as Lusofonia or the Lusophone world (Mundo Lusófono).