CrackitToday App

G4 Countries

G4 Countries:

The G4 countries have reiterated that expansion of UN Security Council in both permanent and non-permanent categories is essential to make the body more representative, legitimate, effective and efficient.

  • The G4 is a grouping of Brazil, Germany, India and Japan which are aspiring to become permanent members of the UNSC.
  • They are supporting each other’s bids for permanent membership of the UNSC.
  • The G4 nations traditionally meet on the sidelines of the annual high-level UN General Assembly session.
  • The Uniting for Consensus (UfC), or the Coffee Club, emerged in the 1990s in opposition to the potential extension of permanent seats on the UN Security Council.
  • Italy along with Pakistan, Mexico and Egypt founded the Coffee Club in 1995 to reject the proposal to increase the number of permanent seats in the UNSC.

UN Security Council:

  • EST: United Nations charter in 1945
  • HQ: New York City, USA.
  • Members: 15 members
  • Permanent members with veto power (P5 members): the United States, the Russian Federation, France, China and the United Kingdom.
  • Non-permanent members: The non-permanent members of the Security Council are elected for a term of two years.