CrackitToday App

Three New Fighter Jets For The Air Force And Navy 2021

Three New Fighter Jets:

According to the Ministry of Defence, three new fighter jets will be flying by 2026, of which two will be for the Air Force and one for the Navy.

  • This includes a new LCA (the Mk-2 version) and AMCA (Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft) for the Air Force and the TEDBF (Twin-Engine Deck-Based Fighter) for the Navy.
  • Earlier, the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) had cleared a deal worth Rs. 48,000 crore for the acquisition of 83 Tejas Light Combat Aircraft (Mk-1A and Mk-1 versions) for the Indian Air Force.

Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) Mk-2:

  • It is a 4.5 generation aircraft that will be used by the Indian Air Force.
  • It is a replacement for the Mirage 2000 class of aircraft.
  • It has got a bigger engine and can carry 6.5 tonnes of payload.
  • The technology is already developed in Light Combat Aircraft (LCA).

AMCA (Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft):

  • It is a fifth-generation aircraft. And will be used by the Indian Air Force.
  • It is a stealth aircraft, i.e. designed for stealth and unlike the LCA, which is designed for maneuverability.
  • It has a unique shape to achieve low radar cross-section and has got internal carriage of weapons.
  • When the external weapons are removed, this aircraft has enough fuel and weapons inside to do a very capable operational role in stealth mode.
  • It will have a range from over 1,000 km up to 3,000 km in different modes.

Twin-Engine Deck-Based Fighter (TEDBF):

  • This fighter will be manufactured for the Navy.
  • It will replace the Navy’s MiG-29K.
  • It will be the first twin-engine aircraft project in India that too for dedicated carrier-based operations.
  • It will operate from the INS Vikramaditya and the upcoming indigenous aircraft carrier.