Get it on Google Play

Who Won The Boltzmann Medal 2022?

Who Won The Boltzmann Medal 2022?

Deepak Dhar, physicist, from the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune, has been selected for the Boltzmann medal, awarded by the Commission on Statistical Physics (C3) of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics.

  • He has been chosen for this award for his contributions in the field of statistical physics, including universal long-time relaxation in disordered magnetic systems, exact solutions in percolation and cluster counting problems and definition of spectral dimension of fractals.
  • He becomes the first Indian to win this award, which was initiated in 1975, with Nobel laureate (1982) K.G. Wilson being the first recipient.
  • He shares the platform with American scientist John J. Hopfield who is known for his invention of an associative neural network, now named after him.
  • The award consists of the gilded Boltzmann medal with the inscription of Ludwig Boltzmann, and the chosen two scientists will be presented the medals at the StatPhys28 conference to be held in Tokyo, 7-11 August, 2023.
  • The medal, which honours outstanding achievements in the field of statistical physics, has been given to one or two persons, once in three years, in the last 47 years.
  • It is given only once to a person and on the condition that that person has not won the Nobel prize so far.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *