CrackitToday App



Kurmis blocked railway tracks in various parts of eastern India demanding Scheduled Tribe (ST) status and inclusion of Kurmali language in the eighth schedule of the Constitution.

  • Kurmi is traditionally a non-elite tiller caste in the lower Gangetic plain of India.
  • They are present in southern regions of Awadh, eastern Uttar Pradesh and parts of Bihar.
  • Eighth Schedule: It lists the official languages of the Republic of India.
  • Part XVII of the Indian constitution deals with the official languages in Articles 343 to 351.
  • The Eighth Schedule to the Constitution consists of the following 22 languages.
  • The Sindhi language was added by the 21st Amendment Act of 1967.
  • Konkani, Manipuri, and Nepali were included by the 71st Amendment Act of 1992.
  • Bodo, Dogri, Maithili, and Santhali were added by the 92nd Amendment Act of 2003.