CrackitToday App

Global Partnership On Artificial Intelligence

Global Partnership On Artificial Intelligence:

India has been handed over the presidency Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence (GPAI) for 2022-23 by the outgoing Council Chair, France in its 3rd Annual Summit in Japan.

  • This development comes on the heels of assuming the Presidency of the G20, a league of the world’s largest economies.

Highlights of the Annual GPAI summit:

  • Tokyo is the first Asian city to host this summit.
  • The meeting discussed these four themes:
    • Responsible AI,
    • Data governance,
    • Future of work,
    • Innovation and commercialisation.
  • With National Programme on AI in place and a National Data Governance Framework Policy (NDGFP), India highlighted its commitment to efficient use of AI for catalyzing innovation ecosystem around AI.
  • The NDGFP aims to ensure equitable access to non-personal data and focus on improving the institutional framework for government data sharing, promoting principles around privacy and security by design, and encouraging the use of anonymization tool.


  • It was launched in June, 2020, with fifteen members.
  • The Global Partnership in Artificial Intelligence is described as the ‘fruition of an idea developed within the G7.’
  • It is a multi-stakeholder initiative on artificial intelligence (AI), which aims to fill what it describes as ‘the gap between theory and practice on AI,’ by supporting cutting-edge research, as well as applied activities, on AI-related priorities.
  • The initiative facilitates international cooperation on artificial technology by bringing together on a single platform, experts from fields such as science, industry, civil society, governments, international bodies, and academia.
  • At present, GPAI has twenty-five member states:
    • Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, the Republic of Korea (South Korea), Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom, the United States, and the European Union (EU).