CrackitToday App

National Mission On Sustaining Himalayan Ecosystem (NMSHE)

National Mission On Sustaining Himalayan Ecosystem (NMSHE):

Scientists, with support from the National Mission on Sustaining Himalayan Ecosystem (NMSHE) Programme, have been able to disseminate available scientific information to the farmers to enable sustainable and climate-resilient agriculture in the Leh region.

  • NMSHE is one of the eight missions under the National Action Plan on Climate Change (NAPCC).
    Key Points
  • It was launched in 2010 but was formally approved by the government in 2014.
  • It is a multi-pronged, cross-cutting mission across various sectors.
  • It contributes to the sustainable development of the country by enhancing the understanding of climate change, its likely impacts, and adaptation actions required for the Himalayas- a region on which a significant proportion of India’s population depends for sustenance.

States Covered:

  • Eleven states: Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Assam, and West Bengal.
  • Two Union Territories: Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.