CrackitToday App

Nato Plus : Including India

Nato Plus : Including India

A US Congressional Committee recently recommended strengthening Nato Plus by including India in the five-member grouping.

  • Nato Plus is a grouping of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and five countries, including Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Israel, and South Korea.
  • The group works toward boosting global defence cooperation.
  • India would gain access to seamless intelligence sharing between these countries.
  • India would get access to the latest military technology without much of a time lag.
  • It would further strengthen India’s defence partnership with the United States.

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO):

  • It is a transatlantic alliance of 31 like-minded North American and European countries.
  • It was established by the North Atlantic Treaty (also called the Washington Treaty) on April 4, 1949.
  • Aim is to protect peace and to guarantee the territorial integrity, political independence and security of the member states.