CrackitToday App

O. Henry Award 2022

O. Henry Award:

Amar Mitra’s short story titled Gaonburo, written way back in 1977, has fetched him the 1919-founded O. Henry Award, whose past winners include William Faulkner, Saul Bellow and Raymond Carver.

  • The O. Henry Award is an annual American award given to short stories of exceptional merit.
  • The award is named after the American short-story writer O. Henry.
  • The award was first presented in 1919 and funded by the Society of Arts and Sciences.
  • The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories is an annual collection of the year’s twenty best stories published in U.S. and Canadian magazines.