CrackitToday App

Prof. Kothapalli Jayashankar Award

Prof. Kothapalli Jayashankar Award:

Acharya N. Gopi, a renowned poet, literary critic, and recipient of the Sahitya Akademi Award, has been selected as the recipient of the prestigious Prof. Kothapalli Jayashankar Award.

  • The award, instituted by Bharat Jagruthi, a cultural organization affiliated with Bharat Rashtra Samithi, aims to honor accomplished literary figures.
  • The felicitation ceremony will take place on June 21 at the Telangana Saraswatha Parishath in Abids.
  • Acharya Gopi has written a remarkable total of 56 books.
  • His diverse repertoire includes 26 collections of poems, 7 compilations of essays, 5 translations, and 3 research books.
  • His literary works have garnered widespread acclaim, leading to translations into several Indian languages and even foreign languages such as German, Persian, and Russian.

Kothapalli Jayashankar :

  • Popularly known as Professor Jayashankar, was an Indian academic and social activist.
  • He was a leading ideologue of the Telangana Movement
  • He fought for a separate state beginning in 1952
  • He often stated that unequal distribution of river water was the root cause of the separate Telangana movement.
  • He was the former Vice-Chancellor of Kakatiya University and an activist in the Separate Telangana Movement.