CrackitToday App

Indian Ocean Rim Association

Indian Ocean Rim Association:

Sri Lanka set to take over chairmanship of Indian Ocean Rim Association during 23rd Council of Ministers’ Meeting.

  • Indian Ocean Rim Association was established in 1997 as an intergovernmental organisation of States on the rim of the Indian Ocean
  • It has members from Africa, West Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia , Europe and Oceania.
  • The Association’s membership has expanded to 23 member states and 11 dialogue partners.
  • Asia: India, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Maldives, Oman, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.
  • Africa: Kenya, Madagascar, Mozambique, Somalia , South Africa, Tanzania, Comoros, Mauritius, Seychelles.
  • Oceania: Australia.
  • Europe: France
  • Its apex body is the Council of Foreign Ministers (COM) which meets annually.
  • IORA has identified six priority areas namely: Trade and Investment, Maritime Safety and Security, Fisheries Management, Disaster Risk Management and Blue Economy.