CrackitToday App

N. Rangasamy: Puducherry CM

N. Rangasamy: Puducherry CM:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated N. Rangasamy on taking oath as Puducherry CM.

  • Puducherry is a Union Territory of India rather than a state, which implies that governance and administration fall directly under federal authority.
  • However, Puducherry is one of the three union territories in India (the other being the National Capital Territory of Delhi and Jammu and Kashmir) that is entitled to a special constitutional amendment to have an elected legislative assembly and a cabinet of ministers, thereby conveying partial statehood.
  • The Pondicherry Representative Assembly was converted into the Legislative Assembly of Pondicherry on 1 July 1963 as per Section 54(3) of The Union Territories Act, 1963.
  • The elections for the Puducherry Vidhan Sabha are held since 1964.