CrackitToday App

Nobel Prize In chemistry 2022

Nobel Prize In chemistry 2022:

The 2022 Nobel Prize in chemistry was awarded to Carolyn R Bertozzi, Morten Meldal and K Barry Sharpless “for the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry”

  • Sharpless was the first scientist to work on ‘click chemistry’ – a branch of science that explores the assembly of molecules.
  • Meldal and Dr. Sharpless – independently of each other – presented the copper-catalysed azide-alkyne cycloaddition (CuAAC), a reaction that is now widely used in fields like medicinal chemistry. The CuAAC reaction is an improved form of the azide-alkyne Huisgen cycloaddition.
  • Bertozzi improved the field further by developing click reactions that work inside living organisms.
  • These bioorthogonal reactions do not disrupt the normal chemistry of the cell.

Click chemistry:

  • Click chemistry is a functional field where molecules snap together quickly and efficiently – literally like a click.
  • It is defined as a “set of powerful, highly reliable, and selective reactions for the rapid synthesis of useful new compounds and combinatorial libraries through heteroatom links”.